Trying it Out

I’m not sure yet if this will be a regular occurrence, however I did take pictures of everything I ate today and so I’m deciding to post it just to get a feel for it 🙂

Breakfast was a baked oatmeal square that I made a few weeks ago and froze. I stuck it in the fridge overnight to thaw out, then this morning threw it in the microwave for 30 seconds then under the broiler to crisp it up. I think I liked the texture better after these were frozen, it was so dense and filling 🙂 I used Kath’s recipe, which is right here. I topped my baked oatmeal with peanut butter and honey, and of course I had a cup (ok tankard, my cup is massive) of coffee.


I remembered Miss Chocolate Covered’s challenge to try a new food so while in the grocery store today I grabbed a small carton of soy yogurt to try. I love yogurt, so I wasn’t sure how the soy kind would compare. Well…I loved it!!! It was awesome!!! It had more sugar than I would like to have in a yogurt, but for the sweetened kind I think I prefer soy over milk. I had my peach soy yogurt with a mango and a banana, and then an hour later I went back to the kitch for a piece of toast with pb & j. So good 🙂


For dinner I made vcon’s black bean burgers. These are so freaking good, I make them twice a month, and I’m not one to repeat recipes all that often. I topped it with some laughing cow cheese and had a salad with toasted almond slivers, tomatoes, and balsamic vinegar.


I also made a black bean burger sandwich for my boyfriend- he loves these things 🙂 He’s so healthy, what a good boy hahaha.

I had a snack in there too, some licorice while studying with a friend- but all that did was remind me that I don’t like candy. I’m a chocolate girl, definitely 🙂 Have a great night everyone!!

8 Responses to “Trying it Out”

  1. VeggieGirl Says:

    Oooh, the baked oatmeal square looks delicious! Kath’s recipes are always fabulous :0)

    Mmm, the black-bean burgers look marvelous as well – glad that your boyfriend liked them too!

    Enjoy the rest of your Friday!

  2. ChocolateCoveredVegan Says:

    I’m with you– give me chocolate over candy any day!

    Can your boyfriend come train mine? He does NOT like healthy food (unless, of course, he doesn’t know it’s healthy– I love sneaking healthy ingrdients into dishes and not telling him until after he admits to liking it! Although I think by now he is suspicious that ANYTHING I make might just have some hidden spinach or something!)

  3. romina Says:

    YUM!! I could go for some baked oatmeal right now (especially with PB on top).

  4. ChocolateCoveredVegan Says:

    Yeah, LOL that does rank right up there with “creepiest thing anyone’s ever said to me”! And it’s not exactly what I want people to think of when they think of me hehehehe.

    Now why would that email go to your JUNK mailbox? It sounds like a promising email ;o)

  5. Monica Says:

    you are so lucky your boyfriend is healthy! my boyfriend is so unhealthy-he eats everything fried! our eating habits are so different but he knows once i cook for him he’ll have to at least try new things!

    good luck studying! enjoy the rest of your weekend 🙂

  6. Katie Says:

    I love black bean burgers with a passion! This is totally inspiring me to make them this week!

  7. Jill Says:

    I want to find more types of soy yogurt, is that one tasty?

    I’m adding you to my blogroll, if that’s ok?

  8. ashley Says:

    Your food this day looks beautiful!

    I’ve been lucky to get my boyfriend to eat some black bean burgers, too. Try Chili’s!

Leave a Reply

