What You’ve Been Dreaming Of

Oh wow. Check out the chocolate on these babies. I had some light sour cream left over from the Cranberry-Cardamom muffins and decided to do some experimenting with that recipe as my base. The result was fat-free (not counting the pb and chocolate chip extras), super moist, chocolately beyond belief, and absolutely delicious!

Double Chocolate Peanut Butter Swirl Cupcakes

1 1/4 cup whole wheat pastry flour
1/2 cup cocoa powder
3/4 cup plus 2 tablespoons sugar
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
pinch of salt
1/4 tsp cinnamon
2 eggs, lightly beaten
1 banana, mashed, plus enough light sour cream to make 1 cup between both ingredients
1/4 cup applesauce
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
natural peanut butter
dark chocolate chips

(1) Preheat oven to 350. In a large bowl, stir together flour, cocoa powder, all of the sugar, baking powder, baking soda, salt, and cinnamon.
(2) In another bowl, lightly beat eggs. Add in the 1 cup of banana/light sour cream mixture, applesauce, and vanilla extract. Make a well in dry ingredients and pour in wet. Stir until combined.
(3) Fill well-greased muffin cups 3/4 full with batter. Pour a little under a teaspoon of peanut butter on top of each cupcake, and swirl into batter to create a marbled look. Top with a few chocolate chips. Bake for roughly 15 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out clean. You should get about 12 cupcakes.

My review: These were honestly so good. Since I based them off of a muffin recipe, I was going to call them muffins, but these taste wayyy too decadent to be called anything less than cupcakes. I was so impressed with the rich chocolate flavour and the moist, dense texture. The peanut butter and chocolate chip topping are totally optional, but they added a great extra note. I don’t count calories, but in case you’re wondering, each cupcake has around 150 calories- of course, it also depends on how generous you are with toppings :0). I highly recommend these, and would even use this recipe to make a birthday cake. I doubt anyone would guess it was fat-free!

9 Responses to “What You’ve Been Dreaming Of”

  1. Monica Says:

    Those cupcakes look amazing…peanut butter and chocolate can’t be beat! And even better that they are fat-free. I can’t wait to try this recipe!

  2. VeggieGirl Says:

    I HAVE been dreaming of those Double Chocolate Peanut Butter Swirl Cupcakes!! Except I think that mine may have had carob in them ;0) They look BEYOND sensational!

  3. bikergurl Says:

    Fat free chocolate cupcakes? I have to try these the next time I’m baking!

  4. loveofoats Says:

    now how did you know that that was what i’ve been dreaming of? b/c it is!!! yummy 😉

  5. ChocolateCoveredVegan Says:

    ok, that’s kinda scary… how did you know what I’ve been dreaming about?! Chocolate-peanut butter cupcakes sound amazing because they incorporate two of my all-time favorite foods!

    I think I am going to look quite wonderful with my four melons. Everyone will want to be me…

  6. Katie Says:

    Oh wow. My husband would go ape over these!! They look great.

  7. arimcg Says:

    I am making these ASAP.

    Also, I have been sleeping on your blog all this time. I’m sorry. I love it!

  8. Tina Says:

    Yum! Those cupcakes look delicious! I could go for one right now!

  9. S. Says:

    Jesus Mary and Joseph those look incredible.

Leave a Reply

