Light and Fruity

Last night my brother and I went out for some gelato and then we snacked on BBQ rice crisps while watching tv, but my camera batteries died and so no pictures 😦 I found some new ones though so we’re good to go now.

Because of last night’s snacks I wasn’t too hungry this morning so I made myself a light breakfast of yogurt with Bear Naked vanilla almond crunch granola, 2% yogurt, half a banana, strawberries, and a kiwi. It tasted just as great as it looked!



The nutrition facts for this kind are pretty good:

And this guy here was running back and forth by my windowsill all morning! Silly squirrel.


I’ve really enjoyed blogging about my meals for the past week or so but so far I haven’t really achieved much in terms of my recasting goals. I am still eating far too many sweets (offenders) and I really need to get more veggies in! Gelato especially is something I am prone to overdo and I have just been eating too much of it without enough pleasure. So, I am going to make a few changes:

1) Cut out offenders completely. For me, these are gelato, snack foods like pretzels that my roommate brings into the house, and snacks (mostly sweet ones, like muffins or pastries) that I just kind of eat without savouring or even really thinking about them.
2) One treat a week, to be had on Saturday.
3) Spend more time on meal planning and incorporate more veggies into my days.

As always, the focus is on pleasure and consciously savouring what I choose to eat. I’m very happy with the amount of movement I do in a day, and I’ve really been enjoying my time at the gym. Now I need to put a little more effort into the dietary part and the results I want will start to show.

Happy Monday and see you for lunch!

7 Responses to “Light and Fruity”

  1. VeggieGirl Says:

    If your breakfast DID taste just as great as it looks, then it must have truly been exceptional!! Yum!!

    Good luck with your changes!!

  2. Simple and Divine Says:

    Hey there babygirl! Your Breakfast looks so incredibly beautiful! Honestly, my first thought was, ‘Woowww, where’d they go out for breakfast!!’ It looks like it came from some beautiful Hotel! REALLY, though! Hahaha and I totally second Liz’s comment… It MUST have been out of this world 🙂

    It’s always good to try and get in more fruits and veggies! For me it’s a no brainer, because Broccoli, Grape Tomatoes, and Carrots are consumed by the TON, lol! You should totally make your way to that incredible outdoor market if you have time and get some inspiration! 🙂

    Happy Monday!

  3. Melissa Says:

    I hear ya 🙂 I second those goals 100% and am trying to do the same thing this week! Those little treats and extras are exactly what I need to cut out!!!

  4. Jenn Says:

    Your breakfast spread is beautiful! I love how all the colors combine, especially that plate! Isn’t it funny how a plate can make me so happy these days?

    Best of luck with your new goals!

  5. newcitygirl Says:

    I’ve been reading FWDGF too, I’ve really been thinking about the things I just snack on and don’t get as much pleasure out of. I think it’s such a great idea to really savor everything and get high quality ingredients, so like you, I’m working on making eating an event! Your plate looks beautiful and it seems like you really did make it an event… i need to try that more often!

  6. loveofoats Says:

    that is such a beautiful breakfast!!!!

  7. CeciLiA Says:

    GOOD LORD! That breakfast has MY NAME smothered all over it – DELICIOUSLY GORGEOUS!!

    Good luck with the changes to your diet!!

    Have a great day sweetie!! 😀

Leave a Reply

