Hives, Swelling, and Triage- Oh My!

Not for me, but for my roommate! She gets allergy shots and had an awful reaction today when given a few shots at once- her face and her hands became swollen and she got hives and a rash and when she started having trouble breathing we left for the ER quick. She’s going to Med school in the fall and volunteered at this hospital before so she knew her way around, and after a few rounds of IV drugs she started looking much better. I find hospitals fascinating and all of the equipment and medicines were so interesting. There was a bunch of friendly nurses around who answered my questions so I learned a lot today šŸ™‚ I don’t think I could ever be a doctor or even a nurse but pharmaceudical sales is an occupation that I’ve always been intrigued by, and today is prompting me to do a bit more research into the field.

Before the reaction, there was lunch, and it was awesome. I sauteed 1/3 cup black beans in a little olive oil, salt, and pepper just to heat them a little, then I microwaved a sweet potato until it was fairly soft and finished it off on the George Foreman to crisp up my slices and also give them some gorgeous grill lines. Dipped in a little ketchup/hot sauce mix, they were delicious. The tofu, however, was the star today- what a difference it makes when you press it for half an hour! The crispy outside and chewy inside was the perfect texture, and my marinade of tamari, agave nectar, lime juice and hot sauce provided excellent flavouring. Now that I’m home from the hospital I might go to the gym or go out for a walk- in any case, see you for dinner!

5 Responses to “Hives, Swelling, and Triage- Oh My!”

  1. Jenn Says:

    Those sweet potatoes look AMAZING! My roomie has a George Foreman grill, so I may have to do that. It certainly makes it look prettier!

    And I hope your roommate is feeling better – yikes :o/

  2. VeggieGirl Says:

    Ahh, so sorry about your roommate :0( Hope she’s doing well!!

    SWEET POTATOES!!! Fabulous.

  3. ashley Says:

    I hope your roommate feels better!

    I love every part of your lunch. When you say you pressed the tofu, is it to get the water out? I’ve always cooked my tofu straight from the container.

  4. Conquerbysmiling Says:

    Incredible, how did you get the tofu like that? What do you mean by squeezing it for a half hour? is there a certain process that must be done?

  5. CeciLiA Says:

    OH MY! Thank God that didn't happen to you :0) *Phew* I'm glad that your roommate is feeling better!

    Olalala, your lunch looks scrumptious again!! I <333 tofu and THAT marinade sounded too good to me *slurp*

Leave a Reply

