Let The Countdown Begin!!!!!

So much to talk about today! I’ll alternate between food and news haha. First off, the weather was finally gorgeous and sunny instead of overcast and stormy. I was inside working for most of the day but at least the sunlight came in my windows 🙂

Breakfast this morning was fantastic. Last night I chopped up a Royal Gala apple and then sauteed it in a skillet with a touch of butter, brown sugar, lots of cinnamon, and some raisins. I let it cool a bit, then stirred in a serving of cottage cheese and let it sit overnight. It was soooo good!!! The apple tasted just like apple pie filling and the creamy cottage cheese complimented it perfectly. Delicious. I also had a slice of toasted cinnamon raisin Ezekiel bread with a touch of butter, some papaya, and half of an orange. Coffee was there too (of course) but was camera shy this morning.


I also made lunch up last night too. My mornings go by so smoothly when I’ve packed everything and prepared the night before! I love being able to relax in the morning with my favourite meal of the day and my coffee, so there will be a lot more easily reheated ‘dinners for lunch’ around here 🙂 Pictured here is broccoli, shredded cabbage coleslaw mix, 1/3 cup black beans, and tofu, all cooked up in hot sauce, Szechuan sauce, and salt and pepper.

Now, before we move on to dinner, I’m going to break for some news- I’m going to BOSTON in 2 weeks!!!! My boyfriend is from there and living at home for the summer (I haven’t seen him since May) so I’ve finally been able to book off some time to go visit him. I am SOOOO excited! I visited him last summer too but it was a shorter visit and we spent most of our time down the Cape and at Martha’s Vineyard (both beautiful!) and we’ll be back there for sure, but I also want to spend some time in the city! Annnnd as much as I miss him, I also kinda want to spend some quality time with Trader Joe’s and Whole Foods!!!!!!!!!!! Can you believe that I have NEVER been to either?!?!? Ahhhh Canada. Seriously lacking in the awesome food store category. I’ve also read so much about Panera Bread from the lovely oat lover Lindz so I want to go there too. Any other suggestions as to what I should do? My boyfriend will be in class for most of the first day I’m there so I think I’ll have a whole day in the city. Did I mention that I’m excited….???!!!


K now we can talk about dinner 🙂 Above is another delicious amazing breakfast for dinner. In my bowl is 2% plain yogurt, cinnamon raisin rice pudding (I’m sure you’re all sick of seeing this lol) and some pear yogurt. I was intrigued by it because there was no added sugar (just pear) and grains like buckwheat in it but I was a little disappointed because I was envisioning glorious chunks of fruit in my yogurt and instead all I got was a little bit. Best to add your own fruit. Oh well, it’s still tasty. I also had some amazing mango and strawberries.

I am still bubbling over with things to say but I have to work a double shift tomorrow and it starts earrrrrlyyyy so I had better hit the hay. So I bid you adieu until tomorrow, I’ve already got a fabulous breakfast planned 🙂 Good night!

6 Responses to “Let The Countdown Begin!!!!!”

  1. lighterportions Says:

    Oh wow, have a great time visiting the bf! And visiting WHOLE FOODS and TRADER JOES. So jealous. Double sigh for Canada and its lack of those great stores that I MUST visit someday…

    Loving the sounds of that cottage cheese/apple combo! Cheese and apple are amazing together so that dish sounds especially awesome.

  2. loveofoats Says:

    YAY – that is such exciting news!!!!!! I can’t wait to hear all about what amazing things you see and eat in Boston 🙂

  3. just me Says:

    yay! fun times getting to see your boy!! have a great time with him….and your visits to trader joe’s and whole foods!!! hahaha…i’m excited you’re excited about visiting them! lol!

    and even though you’re working a double shift, i hope you still have a great day!

  4. hk Says:

    email me, I’ll be in boston while you’re there! We’ll definitely have to get together for a meal or coffee and shopping 🙂

    hopekrause@gmail.com

  5. VeggieGirl Says:

    Hooray for gorgeous weather, fantastic meals, and an upcoming trip to Boston!! I resided in Boston last year, so I can verify how fun that city is – definitely go shopping on Newbury Street!!

    YOU’VE NEVER BEEN TO WHOLE FOODS OR TRADER JOE’S?????? **faints** DEFINITELY have a blast there, girl!! Both are great stores, for sure!! :0)

  6. CeciLiA Says:

    OH BOY! I AM SO SLOW … I didn't realize you're from Canada *hits head on table* – forgive me!! ;0(

    Oh boy, the apple pie thing sounded SO good!! I love apple pie … mmm … apple pie <333 I must try this some day in the future, thanks for the tip! ;0) p.s.: That orange looks like a LEMON to me 0_0 hehe!

    Oh yes, it is definitely a bonus to enjoy and savor your breakfast in the morning! And that dinner of yours sounds really yummy!!

    OH BOY, you're going to BOSTON to visit the boyfriend ;0) Hope you have a GREAT time there!! OMG!! PLEASE TAKE PICTURES of everything … including Whole Foods and Trader Joes!! I'm just as excited as you … I want to hear more about Whole Foods when you get back!! OMG!!!!!!

    *Breathe* OK … move onto dinner! Hahaha, I love your idea of breakfast for dinner <33 You might start a trend soon! ;0)

    Oh good luck with the double shift … I worked double shifts a couple of times before … one tip is to NEVER look at the time!! It kills you, lol!

Leave a Reply

