Tex Mex Lightens Up

As always, oats held me through a tough morning at work. I wasn’t even really that hungry when I took my lunch break at 12:30, so I just grabbed a Crunchy Peanut Butter Clif bar and an organic vanilla yogurt. They definitely hit the spot though and powered me well into the afternoon! I like this flavour of Clif bar but my absolute favourite is the Chocolate Almond Fudge. It tastes like a richer, more textured version of the chocolate brownie z-bar. Yum 🙂


Since I’m leaving soon I don’t want to have a lot of perishable groceries lying around so I went out for a salad for dinner. I ordered the ‘Tex Mex’, which I feared would be smothered in cheese and chips and too much guac (though really, can there be such a thing??). I was pleasantly surprised when my plate came to the table, loaded with a mountain of fresh mixed greens, tomatoes, red kidney beans, and very reasonable portion sizes of grilled chicken, cheddar cheese, guacamole, and salsa. There were just a few chips framing the plate instead of drowning it. This was really good, and I ate about 3/4 of it and am saving the rest to do something with tomorrow.

Since my cocoa coffee tasted so good this morning I decided that I wanted it for dessert tonight too! I got a decaf coffee and stirred in some hot chocolate powder when I got home. It’s raining and gross outside and this warmed me right up.

I think I’ll do some packing tonight, catch up on blogs (I missed you guys!) and read some more of Atonement. So far it’s pretty good, very detailed (sometimes too much so) but still quite captivating. I wanted to get to the gym today but that might have to wait until tomorrow. Have a good night!

3 Responses to “Tex Mex Lightens Up”

  1. Danielle Says:

    Oh I’m craving hot cocoa now! Sounds so yummy 🙂

    And considering I haven’t had a chance to tell you already… Ozzie is absolutely adorable! I fall in love with the puppy more and more each time I look @ the photos!

  2. Sammie Says:

    What an adorable puppy!! I like your blog, I just tagged you on mine – check it out for details.
    runningwitharecipe.blogspot.com

  3. Jenn Says:

    Yes! I’m soooo glad you like Coffee Cocoa enough to drink it TWICE! That seriously makes me smile :o)

Leave a Reply

