Satisfaction

Soooo I definitely went back to bed after breakfast today 🙂 It’s honestly one of my favourite things to do… During the school year on weekends I loved waking up super early, enjoying my oats, and then falling back asleep for a few hours before waking up again to coffee. Ok, I’m a little weird 🙂 I only slept for half an hour or so today though, and then I got up and made myself some coffee before heading to the gym. I did 40 minutes on the elliptical today while watching X-Weighted, which is a weight-loss show filmed in Nova Scotia (where I grew up!). Watching kind of made me miss home but it was nice to see all of the familiar places! It was also inspiring to work out while watching it- basically the show follows one or two people an episode and covers about six months of their weight loss journey. This episode focused on two best friends, one woman whose starting weight was 235, the other at 295. Both of them wound up losing quite a bit of weight, which made me feel happy for them 🙂 As with any weight-loss show I watch I always hope the contestants stick to their new habits and see it as a lifestyle change, not just a quick fix to lose some pounds. But anyway enough blabbering, on to the food!!!!

I absolutely loved everything I ate today 🙂 It really is my goal to make every day like this! For lunch I toasted up two fig + flax waffles spread with a little butter, 1/2 cup microwaved egg whites, grapes, and a white peach that was a little bruised but still tasted delicious! I need to take a moment to rave about egg whites- SUPER easy to make in the micro, delicious, and they kept me full forever! I just buttered up a little dessert bowl and poured in about 4 egg whites, then microwaved for roughly a minute, stopping every 20 seconds to stir. They came out fantastic, tasting just like they were poached! The touch of butter I used to grease the cup provided awesome flavour too. Sprinkled with a little salt & pepper, they were perfect. Expect to see a lot more egg whites on this blog!!!! 🙂


Dinner was just as much fun! I had a mixed greens salad with blueberries and balsamic vinegar. Blueberries are definitely my favourite berry and they are perfect in salads, since they are both sweet and tart. I had some 2% plain yogurt anddd one of my Boston finds! The Kashi Go-Lean Chewy protein & fiber bar, in chocolate almond toffee. This. Was. Awesome. It was pretty big so it took me a while to eat, and it tasted like a candy bar, but better. It was pretty sweet (the only downfall, there are 31g of sugar in this bar- yikes!) but with 13g of protein, 6g fat and 6g fiber this guy kept me going at work all night. I only wish Kashi would sell such deliciousness in Canada!!!!!!!!!!!!

Another super busy weekend at work (double shifts both days) but at least I have Monday off so I can catch up on sleep and downtime then! Have a great weekend everyone!!!

4 Responses to “Satisfaction”

  1. VeggieGirl Says:

    Good nap + great food = great day :0)

    Happy Saturday!!!

  2. glidingcalm Says:

    I am still waiting to try microwaved egg whites! Thanks for explaining how you did it! 🙂

  3. Foodie (Fab and Delicious Food) Says:

    Sounds like you had a great day! And your happiness is so contagious, you definitely made me smile!

    Have a wonderful Saturday!

  4. eatingbender Says:

    Ah I was soo happy to see another microwaved egg white fan! It definitely tastes just like they would poached – such an easy alternative though!!

Leave a Reply

