Kermit-Colored

I beg to differ with Mr. Kermit the Frog- it is VERY easy to be green! Especially with this bright smoothie ๐Ÿ™‚ I’ve heard about green smoothies and the even more healthful process of jucicing and drinking your greens, and now that I’ve finally tried it I can’t believe I waited so long.

For this smoothie I started with roughly a cup of frozen mango chunks. Then I added a good handful of spinach (washed and stems removed), some ice cubes, and a little unsweetened soymilk (or you could use water, to make it Raw). I gave it an extra-long run in the blender just to make sure I wouldn’t wind up with spinachy bits. What I finally got to taste was a rich, thick, refreshing smoothie. The spinach gave a great texture and provided a balance to the sweet mango. I loved it this way, but if you’re a little wary of spinach in your smoothies or want a sweeter taste, adding in half a banana would most likely add that extra creamy sweetness.

Greens in general have been on my mind a lot lately since I started reading Kristen’s Raw, both her blog and her raw lifestyle pages. While I don’t think a 100% raw vegan lifestyle is the one for me, I really like her philosophy and her energy. I do feel “better”, more alive, when I eat pure, unprocessed foods in their natural states. I’m going to try to do a raw day- just to see how it makes me feel. And if that’s the only 100% raw day I ever do, that’s fine by me, because no matter what else I’m eating I know my new love for green smoothies will ensure I’m getting in *some* raw all the time ๐Ÿ™‚

10 Responses to “Kermit-Colored”

  1. VeggieGirl Says:

    YUM!!! Green smoothies are amazing.

    Saw your comment on my blog – be sure to check back for tonight’s post!!! :0)

  2. ChocolateCoveredVegan Says:

    I want a Kermit smoothie now! Must put mango on my grocery list… I’m off to do that now, in fact.

  3. Conquerbysmiling Says:

    yumm! I made a kermit smoothie once, they are delicious!!! Its awesome because they make you feel really healthy too:]

  4. Danielle Says:

    Green smoothies! I’ve been meaning to try them…. now I have no choice :). Once it really gets hot I have a feeling this may become a breakfast staple, can’t wait!

  5. Erin at caretoeat.net Says:

    I’m excited to try this!

  6. Tina Says:

    Oh my gosh, your smoothie looks so cool! Love it!

  7. Kristen's Raw Says:

    Thanks so much for the shout-out! Glad to hear you’re enjoying your greens ๐Ÿ™‚

    Have a super fun day!!!

    Kristen

  8. lighterportions Says:

    I don’t think I could ever do the raw lifestyle but a raw day here and there is a pretty swell idea.

    And I definitely love me some spinach in my smoothies. I’ve done it a couple times now and it has never failed to please.

  9. GroundedFitness Says:

    I guess its true that if its green, it has atleast one healthy ingredient in it.

    i want one!

    Kelly Turner
    http://www.groundedfitness.com

  10. Melissa Says:

    That looks interesting!!!! Either gross or delish, I can’t decide ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

